Karma: We All Shine On

Over the years, it has become more than frequent that huge commercial conglomerates will take a poignant song or expression, and use it to peddle their wares.  The first time I recognized this, I was a child in middle school and Nike used “Instant Karma” By John Lennon.  I was relatively unaware of who he was, but after that, I had to ask my mom and she even sung along to the song, as it played on the Nike commercials.  Eventually, I even got a t-shirt that had the lyrics on it.  Here is a brief excerpt that I sang over and over again.

 

Instant Karma’s gonna get you
Gonna look you right in the face
Better get yourself together darlin’
Join the human race
How in the world you gonna see
Laughin’ at fools like me
Who in the hell d’you think you are
A super star
Well, right you are

Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Well we all shine on
Ev’ryone come on

 

I had to learn what karma was; and I did, and if anything in the world is responsible for the foundation of what I believe, this is probably it.

Karma is one of the most powerful things in the world.  It supersedes logic, reason, religion, politics, everything.  Here is how.  When we were children, all of us, I am sure we learned the golden rule, which classically reads, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  To me, it’s the simplest thing in the world; and that maxim, in its various forms, has been passed down by humans since the age of Egyptians in 2000 BC and maybe even before that.

But to be honest, this simple, basic decree has to be taught and learned, in order to be properly demonstrated.  When we are born, we are helpless, dependent on our parents for nourishment, protection, everything required for survival.  Our needs are singular and above all else, selfish; because we want to survive.  There is not one crying, hungry, soiled newborn, who stops for a moment and thinks, “Is my physical state conducive to my parents’ needs?”  That never happens.  So, it is usually the job of the parents to instill the idea of the golden rule, through teachings and daily demonstrations that will hopefully be further instilled once the child begins school.

As we all know, as we grow into adulthood, we take our own path and sometimes that path leads us towards the equally old maxim, “I gots to get mine.”

This brings me back to karma.  Karma is the belief that whatever you do comes back to you.  It’s Buddhist in origin, but universal in execution.  No matter what you believe or your religious or non-religious affiliation, we are all subject the influence of karma.

In my own personal experience and observation, karma operates in two forms.  The first is instant.  For example:

-Person A has a cupcake with their name on it.

-Person B sees that cupcake, picks it up and eats it.

-Person A sees their cupcake being eaten and says, “Hey, that’s my cupcake!”

-Person B says, “No, it’s not.”

-Person A says, “Yes, it is.  It has my name on it!”

-Person B says, “Ya snooze, ya lose.”  And then person B, breaks their tooth on   a sprinkle.

That is instant karma.  You wrong someone and immediately answer for your wrong doing.  If one is cognitive of the power of karma, you recognize your instant punishment by the cosmos and move on, all the wiser for the experience.

The second form of karma, I really haven’t given a name to.  Let’s call it delayed karma.  I am not going to give an example because the possibilities are limitless.  There really is no way to know what could befall you, if you greatly wrong someone else.  And…  On the positive flip side, there is really no way to know what reward you can receive for your good deeds.

This all leads back to the golden rule or the maxim of reciprocity; treat everyone the way you want to be treated.  If we all could follow this very simple and basic rule, I think that on a national scale, on an international scale, and on a planetary scale, we could save ourselves from self-destruction.

Think about it, we are all on the same planet.  Subject to the same forces, living our one life.  Why not live it well?  We all shine on.

7 thoughts on “Karma: We All Shine On

  1. This was thought-provoking. Granted, I’m with you on the karma ideology, and yet, I guess, I just wish it happened instantly. I rather get my hell over with and see what I can do, instead of Karma fucking with me only when I’m about to do something good. Karma can be cruel as well as the preconceived neutral.

    Like

  2. Very well written. This narration started one way and then went totally left field for me. My personal perspective regarding karma has drastically changed over the last year and a half. After delving into soul searching and universal interconnected novels, I’ve come to the conclusion that karma does not actually exist in the way it has been taught all these years, as you mentioned. We are taught that if we do bad things it will come back to us, but I believe that we choose to create bad karma based off of our own perception of the choices we make. In short, if you do something and you feel guilty or ashamed about it, you will attract the same vibrational frequency back to you, which we are taught to perceive as karma. However, in this respect, it reveals that we are in control of what we attract.

    I remember being little and watching “America’s Most Wanted”. I used to think, “Wow there are a lot of people committing terrible acts and getting away with it.” For example, a serial killer commits the most heinous and sadistic crimes, yet they continue to get away with it time and time again. The serial killer doesn’t get sick and die, or get robbed, or killed, or caught. I honestly believe the reason is that they do not feel guilty or ashamed of their crimes, rather they see their actions as something that just needed to be done and maybe even “just” in their minds. This is the only way I can make sense of such things, as I strongly believe in the law of attraction.

    The cupcake example in my opinion, only reveals just how much the TRUE feelings of the individual who stole it contradicted their actual words, words which most likely were chosen to appear to be seem “ok” with their actions. Their guilt/shame was probably so intense, that the universe responded with the chipping of the tooth right on the spot.

    The Law does not mean if you do something bad you will attract bad, it means whatever mental/energetic frequencies you send out into the universe, you will receive it back. If anything the vibrational frequency of a serial killer is happiness, because most of them find pleasure in what they do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting. I feel like your idea and mine go hand in hand,because it works the same for good karma. For all the good energy you put out, you will eventually receive it. Honestly, I lean towards the larger the action, the larger the equal reaction. So if a serial killer is out there killing and loving life, delayed karma may kick in and they may not suffer in this life, but who knows what may happen in the next. It just reverts back to the maxim of reciprocity is you treat others the way you want to be treated then you can rarely go wrong.

      Like

      • I agree with reciprocity. I think I’d def refer to “fate” as karama. I just don’t know where I stand on whether or not fate/karma ties into your actions in life.

        Like

  3. From my understanding without looking any of this up…..

    FATE is what is not in your control.
    DESTINY is an iffy road but you know where you want it to end.
    KARMA is based on the return of integer energy released.
    SPIRITUAL is total introspective and the energy around you is based on that.

    We all word things in our own way, and that should not discredit someone else. Instead, it would do best if we research what we are trying to define, and ensure that what we say, matches what we mean, and what the actual term means. In that way, can we have better discussions, pop our bubbles, and keep open the gates to the bridges that bond us. Never let personal feelings get in the way of knowing good people.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post i have written a few posts on karma not so detailed. Karma as you say has a few forms. One should nevet forget if do good you get good karma back. If you do bad it comes back. Then there is neutral karma. I think karma is a universal law . It is exist to keep us straight ..because we are all pure immortal souls who take human bidy after human body to perform on this world stage. Souls orginal qualities are peace , purity, wisdom , joy, love… but as we become body conscious and forget we lose sight of being soul.. we acquire negative qualities like anger, greed, lust, attachment , ego aka algae… and when we act from negative we then we incurr negative karma. So as you say there is instant karma that can happen instant or years later or births later.. reincarnation and karma exits. I thought i would share on karma i am no expert. Your post is beautifully written and great examples. I think karma is a law that exist in the same way gravity exits and has always exited. Also even a feeling or thought create karma … not just a physical action…

    Like

    • Yeah, I have always kind of thought that was true about feelings or thoughts creating karma. That makes it even harder sometimes to say positive. I think we all can strive to vocalize negativity, but sometimes that knee jerk negative reaction that we keep inside is hard to thwart.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

